[No-Artpunk] #9 The Well of Night (OSE)

The Well of Night (alternatively THE TEMPLE of the ADVENT of HER COMING and of HER REIGN IMPERISHABLE in the COLD, DARKNESS, and SILENCE of her VAST, EVERLASTING NONDOM of NIGHT)
Jason Blasso
OSE
Lvl 7 – 14
Pages: 25 + 3 maps
Classification: Submarine Aircraft Carrier

We are at entry 9 and I keep thinking we must have exhausted at least the possibilities of the format so that we will see multiple takes on the same concept but every time I am proven wrong. Jason Blasso, last year’s NAP II winner returns in force with an occultic planar jaunt meant to be played alongside regular adventures, by use of an artifact known as the Well of Night. Blasso has taken the core system of OSE, and fortified it liberally with elements drawn from Rules Cyclopedia and the Creature Catalogue, the super secret add-on to B/X that contains many of its best monsters.

A concept vaguely similar to Nightwolf Inn, the Well grants access to the Temple of the Advent, dedicated to Nyx, primordial ur-power of night, and mother of all the gods. Non-aligned, her followers travel the planes, following the apophatic path, and contemplate absence as they await her inevitable advent. Once inside the shrine, players are at first bombarded with the absolute cold, darkness and silence of the shrine, but if they avoid hostilities with its sinister sacristan and return the corpse on which they found the Well of Night, they are taken to the adventure soon opens up.

Wonder, open-ness, degrees of freedom and possibility is the name of the game with Temple of the Advent, coupled with good game design decisions. Using the Well on one of 6 plinths will transport the PCs to a new location, each totally different, a sort of mini scenario or encounter where they may earn wealth, a boon or a stigmata of nix, which grants supernatural ability. Blasso announces that he will eventually complete all 30 of the plinths, which should make for one hell of an adventure. The stigmata proper are well done, perhaps a bit strong, with the only caveat that while having a single stigmata is immediately very powerful, obtaining more of them does not greatly increase this power, and I would have enjoyed seeing some sort of reward or possibility opened up for characters that succesfully obtain all six of them.

Another obvious problem is that a Well of Many Worlds that reliably leads to only one location presents a certain escape from danger. There is a small caveat, the Well always opens 6” above the surface so anyone using it takes 1d4 damage per transition, and fleeing characters would be transported to the Temple of the Advent, hardly the most hospitable location, but after obtaining the Stigmata, this would become a reliable place of safety. Disallowing any sort of rest within the temple would probalby solve potential abuse, and there are other problems with opening the Well during combat (monsters might simply pursue through it, or prepare an ambush upon return) so that I don’t think using it as written should destabilize a campaign.

Locations proper are, frankly, fantastic. I love them. They embody the sort of wonder that I associate with planar travel. In the first, you are chosen by Black Tom and taken to a ring of dolmens, and must select an opponent from one of the 12 constellations of the Zodiac, which will detach itself from the heavens and engage the characters. This could have been a simple combat, BUT, the characters get to CHOOSE. Balancing Risk vs Reward. That’s great. Fighting a giant flying whale made of stars in the distant north in a circle of dolmens so I may be initiated in the mysteries of Night. That’s what I fucking want from my high-level gaming.

What sets the scenario apart is that though there is an obvious path to follow where you explore these locations beholden to the mother of night and play by the rules, very often you can just loot the place and kill everyone. You don’t have to play by the rules. This is exemplified IN THE TEMPLE OF ADVENT itself, where there are three twelve armed statues of Nyx, with six magic items each. The drawback is you lose all your boons. And then there’s all these other possibilities, giving magic items to the statue means you can get a greater boon, you can lend an item etc. Possibility. Gameplay. Please also note Krull Glaive. As written, they are not very tough, but anyone who gets into combat suffers around 8 attacks and several magic items to contend with. Very lopsided. Lucrative as hell but risky. Perfect for an optional encounter that is tempting you to push your luck.

The rest reads like a blend of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, the Dark Crystal, Roger Zelazny and Philip Jose Farmer. Fuck with a band of sleeping Athach’s, around an altar covered with offal in front of a trilithon, maybe get your brains bashed out on an altar. Seems simple enough. But then! Do you pick up on the clues and get the Trilithon to open a gateway to the Halfling Realm of Death? Before you know it, you are palavering with Halfling Death, and may receive a boon. Its the type of mythic stuff you would see in M1 but with better considered gameplay.

This one, say, is sick. Islands on an ocean of radioactive ash, the observatory a tower of black glass. Upon arrival the characters gradually lose hit points every turn. The ash is like quicksand, but there are bridges linking the islands. Some of the bridges are fragile and might break, others are coated with ash. Underneath the sea of ash is a LEVIATHAN, attracted to the tremors. Then a precise description of how the Leviathan responds to the tremors, where it can attack the PCs and so on. The purple energy sphere provides protection from the radiation. The PCs wont know this. But this scenario rules. You have a situation where very patient and careful reconnaisance would allow the PCs to find the safest route, but you have a ticking clock (in the form of the ash) to keep them from taking too long. The observatory proper is ALSO GREAT and conveys the type of otherwordly wonder that is exactly what we are looking for.

Based and Skeksis pilled.

The prize, the Chronoscope allowing the viewer to see anywhere in time and space that he himself does not, or will not, occupy, is a powerful incentive. Unlimited perfect scrying. In the B/X fashion, something about the destabalizing properties of having mastery of such a device are not fully considered. On the one hand, it is the end-game, and since teleportation without error is not available in OSE, simply viewing a location and teleporting everywhere is inevitably going to end in disaster. On the other hand, limiting the device’s use to a certain number of times per day (possibly link it to wisdom/intelligence bonus) is probably a way to prevent rampant abuse. There is a huge difference between being able to use something, and being able to use something an unlimited number of times per day, after all. The ability to hijack a spaceship and venture to the Nagpa homeworld is tantalizing here, and a great way to leave something for the DM to elaborate on. Give it its own twist.

Pentagrammic! I am expecting at least one Kaballistic Tree of Life map if this thing ever hits 30!

The Black Library. Again you get a small location with lots of things going on. A circular space station somewhere in the blackness, containing 100.000 gps worth of books. The guardians of the library are Banshees, punishing noise-makers, interlopers and those who bring torches. The curator is a lich. Having to all noise within the library or risk drawing the ire of the ladies is an interesting handicap (and the decision to give people multiple ‘tries’ is fair). You can attempt to interact with the library and gain some advantage (study between sessions for the chance to gain a stigmata), you can even deal with the 5 Grey Philosophers and their swarms of Malices (just don’t make noise). By far the most lucrative option is of course to rob the place blind, but do you want to contend with 1 lich and 5 banshees? Here too there are hidden secrets, caveats, a book of life-trapping holding 20 elven nobles.

The House of Sleep. Maybe the best section in the adventure? Again its presented as an open-ended sort of location. A shrine to Sleep, an elephantine deity, and the seven sisters, each embodied in a type of drug. Robbing the place blind is lucrative but summons terrible guardians. The more intriguing mystery is found below, with the idol of sleep and two gates of blank stone. Mystery is piled upon mystery, and only the inquisitive and the cunning will be able to reach the realm of Deeper Sleep, and gain a boon from the god of Sleep. Usually these types of adventures tend to completely throw gameability out of the window but here it strikes a good balance.

An abbey perched on a precipice over an endless void, tended by various hags, there to contemplate infinity. Only women may enter (but again, you can see how illusion magic or a simple disguise might trick them, more can be done with this). Once inside, there is a boon to gain if you are friendly (and bold, to contemplate the abyss bring with it risk as well as possible reward), a great quality of loot and a rudimentary order of battle if you are not, and even rebellion you can foment among its treants and galgaraks used for food in this benighted extraplanar cloister.

There’s a few points where I am a bit uncertain. There are no premade characters and the challenge level of these locations vary considerably, especially if different approaches are taken. The encounters proper are generally well done, using multiple combantats or including caveats (like the Nasnas trying to flee and using its Obsidean golems as a shield). Treasure is on par for side-quests for high level characters that can be solved in 1-2 sessions and are appropriately guarded, and the statues in the Temple of the Advent provide an enticing opportunity to risk it all and win big in the process. This is very good. The biggest complaint is inevitably going to be that there are only 6 of these areas. The stigmata are another cool idea that seems to be building up towards some sort of payoff that does not quite arrive.

This one is already great and is going to be legendary when it is completed. A worthy entry indeed.











19 thoughts on “[No-Artpunk] #9 The Well of Night (OSE)

  1. Thanks, Prince!

    For the Cronoscope, I had this as a limit to use: “Viewing drains 2 points from the PC’s prime requisite ability score(s) per turn used. Drained points are regained 2 per week per score until back to former levels.” Not sure if that’s enough. Will think more on it, but welcome advice. Becker can probably set me straight.

    Also, incredible work from everyone so far. I want to read every entry.

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh man another strong entry from Jason. Was looking forward to it after last year’s offering. This looks like alot of fun to play.

    Like

  3. Levels 7th – 14th is a pretty wide spread, even in B/X.

    I’m a little surprised that we haven’t seen more planar adventures (yet) in the NAP3 entries…everything is quite “grounded” in normal reality and normal “domestic” concerns: kingdoms and armies and (more-or-less) “standard” dungeons. Which is fine (that stuff works for high level play, too)…but the concept of extra-planar exploration is often brought up during discussions of ‘high level play;’ so much so, I’d figure one-in-three of these submissions would take a stab at it.

    I’ll have to write a blog post on the subject of the planes. For all the casual mentions, I think that the concept of PLANAR ADVENTURES is even less explored and less understood than “high level adventures” (maybe fodder for NAP4?). Perhaps 2E veterans of the Planescape setting have the chops, but even these individuals seem few-and-far between on the internet (though maybe I’m not surfing the correct blogs). It has been…a long, LONG time since I did any planar exploration (as a player or DM). I have yet to introduce any of the extra-planar concepts (as far D&D cosmology is concerned) to my current gaming group…they only just fought their first demons in testing my Shrine of the Demon Goddess adventure. And back when I ran B/X (some 3-4 years) for adult, veteran D&D players…the subject never came up. Ever.

    There is a reason planar travel is restricted to high level characters; there is a reason planar information in the PHB is shunted to an appendix.

    [set Mr. Huso’s work aside: I’ve a pretty fair handle on what he’s about and the how and why of his adventures, and the guy is an outlier in/for a number of ways/reasons]

    I have come across few, if any, “good” planar adventures (again, set Huso aside for this discussion). Q1, for all its many failings, is probably the best for AD&D; while X2 would get the nod for Basic play (though admittedly I have only read a handful of Companion and Masters adventures, what I HAVE read that involved planar travel was universally TERRIBLE in execution). What I see most often is the creation of pocket dimensions and “demi-planes:” discreet adventure locations that give designers carte blanche to overhaul existing D&D presumptions and/or inject “weirdness.” It’s basically just Saturday Night Specials, good for a bit of a lark before getting back to run-of-the-mill D&D play.

    Is that what this is? An apparatus for PCs to experience multiple “Saturday Night Specials,” breaking game assumptions in order to challenge high level PCs before they return to their normal lives with a few extra sacks of treasure and a bennie (“stigmata”)?

    This entry (Well of Night) has some neat ideas. It feels a bit like a mini-campaign of several unconnected adventures, joined by an interesting conceit, rather than a single, coherent whole. That doesn’t mean they aren’t scenarios suitable for high level PCs…that radioactive archipelago is TIGHT. But is it the “epic planar adventure” I’m looking for? Nope.

    [side note: I had no idea there was such a thing as a submersible aircraft carrier]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Re Planescape, the that project was far too tradshit to have any game design of value as far as I’ve seen. If indeed the true planar adventure hasnt been achieved in the OSR I dont expect to find one anywhere else.

      Like

      1. I will not pretend to have read all (or half or a quarter) of all that the OSR has had to offer on the subject of planar adventures. It *would* be cool, though, if NAP generated two or three good ones. Prince has nearly a dozen more to review, so I’m hopeful (though I can say for certain that MY adventure was pretty “worldly,” this time around).

        *sigh* Next year, perhaps.

        Like

      2. (this is a reply to JB) You haven’t even read THIS planar adventure. You haven’t read ANY of these. And reading is not running! I know you have an active play group and obviously have chops running 1e hence the cauldron win but why do you constantly weigh in on adventures you haven’t READ I am going INSANE

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hey, Doc:

        You are absolutely right, and I am in full agreement with you: reading is NOT playing, and I haven’t read any of these…it IS insane.

        I’ve addressed this before (on my blog)…it’s one of the reasons I don’t write reviews of adventures that I haven’t played. I can review a film I’ve watched; I can review an album I’ve heard. But for the role-playing medium, one really needs to PLAY the thing to see how it works out. I totally agree with you.

        So why do I weigh in? Hm.

        Here’s the thing about the NAP contest:

        Aside from doing The Lord’s Work (promoting fantasy adventure gaming and encouraging folks to create honest-to-goodness adventures of a non-suck variety), Prince has…through his contest…created a public conversation around just what is possible with regard to Adventure Creation in the “old school” manner.

        Prince doesn’t have to write-up these reviews for our consumption…he COULD just collect the entries, read them, and proclaim the winners/distribute prizes. Instead, he reads them and airs them out in public, discussing their strengths, critiquing their weaknesses, excerpting details…all of which provides food for thought while drumming up excitement for the process. Which, in turn, keeps folks engaged in Just What The Contest Is About, i.e. promoting and tuning Fantasy Adventure Gaming.

        NAP isn’t just a contest. It’s an annual event.

        And it’s a workshop. The commentary, the critique, the discussions…these are things that interested folks can learn from. *I* have learned from them (over the last three years)…not just from my own entries, but from those of others. NAP has helped my own adventure writing immensely…not just by challenging me to “do better” but by both INSPIRING me and forcing me to be THOUGHTFUL in my own design. And I will say I’ve taken away these benefits from as many entries that didn’t make the cut, as those that won.

        So why do I weigh in? Several reasons. #1 is that I’m an arrogant SOB who feels I have something to contribute to the conversation (this may or may not be accurate). #2 is that I am stupidly competitive, and I will often berate an entry over minor details out of some inane desire to ‘beat my rivals.’

        But the #3 reason is this: sometimes, I need to write to help crystalize my thoughts on a particular thing. Sometimes, I don’t even know what I’m trying to articulate about a subject until I’m forced (or I force myself) to put words down. I can gab and gab and gab (ask Prince: he had to ride the train with me at Cauldron) and my ability to edit…or even come to a point!…can be sadly lacking, especially when I haven’t taken the time to sit and reflect and digest a subject. You can be sure that when I DO speak in a way that seems like ‘oh, this guy knows what he’s talking about’ it’s PROBABLY because I’ve run the conversation in my head multiple times already.

        Writing (even commenting on a blog) helps me to clarify my own thoughts. Not always…sometimes I just type/jot something off-the-cuff. But usually, I can take a moment, compose myself, re-read, edit, delete, re-write, etc. Doing so helps tidy my messy mind.

        And since Prince’s blog happens to cover a subject that is near-and-dear to my heart, it’s no wonder that I find myself penning my thoughts here.

        I will also say this: as a blogger, it’s (almost) always nice to get comments and feedback…even negative comments. At least that means folks are reading, even if they don’t always agree with (or understand) what you’re trying to communicate. And as someone who’s cognizant of this, I like to comment on the blogs I read because I ASSUME that other bloggers feel the same way that I do…that they will appreciate me taking the time to drop a note that I’ve read their hard-crafted words.

        However, since NAP is something MORE than just an entertaining read (and these reviews by Prince ARE entertaining), it behooves me to say something more than just “nice review *smiley face*,” you know? I want to keep the conversation rolling…so that it’s more than just a love-fest (I suppose that’s reason #4).

        Hope all that makes sense!
        ; )

        Like

    2. There will be additional entries that will go where few men dare.

      Q1 is weak. I would point at the less playable but more grandiose and ambitious H4 as a better example before I would resort to it. Inferno might also be closer, at least in craftsmanship.

      This idea of exceptions, overhauling, changes to the rules, that to me is the planes. You should be taking them to areas that are unexpected, not seen before.

      I think Well of Night establishes very well what it is and what it is not: A delicious alternate path of progression to explore and enjoy in between major conflicts.

      Apparently the submersible aircraft carrier has been built but it never quite took off, the model neutralizes too many strengths of the submersible while having a capacity that was generally too low to match with a normal carrier. The japanese almost used one to do a biological assault on the eastern coast during WW2.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not that anyone’s asking for it, but for clarification, this is what I wrote in the overview to establish the reasoning behind the adventure:

        “Not having high-level play experience and believing most contestants would create mercilessly difficult adventures with world-ending scenarios and uber-powerful end bosses, I created, as an experiment, an ancillary adventure that, if found and played right, could offer high-level PCs access to critical information or powerful boons to help them on their main quest.

        The Temple of the Advent is a nexus point in a pocket dimension that takes PCs to different parts of their planet, other planets, and planes through the use of the Well of Night. The Temple was created by the Children of Night and is dedicated to Nyx, the goddess of Primordial Night. If the PCs choose, they may become Children of Night and gain stigmata, the mark of Nyx, and the boons they grant. Of 30 planned destinations, 6 have been completed for the contest.”

        So, Becker’s right. It’s not an out-and-out planar adventure. I thought it’d be cool for PCs to jump around and explore interesting places between more epic gameplay to gain boons and do things, like scry from a Cronoscope, which they can’t do by spell in B/X|OSE.

        And, as Prince noted in the review, “the challenge level of these locations vary considerably.” This is why I used a wide spread for levels (perhaps too wide), because, if played straight, level 7s should be able to survive. It’s also why I didn’t create pre-mades, as it would be superfluous.

        I stand by all decisions. This was the most fun I ever had writing. I hope that comes through in the adventure and can be channeled through referees to their players.

        Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hey, *I* appreciate the clarification.
        ; )

        One thing I will say about pre-gens: they can give a DM an idea of how an adventure is supposed to be run. A level 7th-9th scenario is very different from 10th+ and (especially) 12th+. One thing about H4 (the infamous 18th-100th level 1E module)…the author made a point of explaining there wasn’t much difference in game play between an 18th and 99th level character, aside from a few more hit points. And in 1E, that’s accurate as progression tapers off at a certain level.

        But game play between mid- and high-levels varies immensely in D&D and, while a single adventure may be APPROACHED in different fashions/styles with different leveled parties, the adventure will need to be run differently…and a group of pre-gens with specific load-outs (in terms of equipment and spells) can help DMs in their prep work.

        [I will also note that H4 included TWO sets of pre-gens…one group around 18th and one group of 100th…in order to cover both expected types/styles of play]

        Like

      3. @ Prince:

        “Q1 is weak. I would point at the less playable but more grandiose and ambitious H4 as a better example before I would resort to it.”

        The pertinent phrase is “less playable.” Since we are here to PLAY D&D, Q1 (for me) beats H4’s “grandiosity” every time.
        ; )

        Like

  4. I suspect that good planar adventures are part of Dungeon Crawl Classics.

    Regards this one and OSR, original BECMI and it’s five spheres of Immortality tradition, this reminds me of the idea that originally that there was one sphere of Life and four spheres of Entropy (here five) and the fairy folk were the immortals of the original sphere of Life, now in a round of endless reincarnation.

    Just saying if you’d want to faction this up with some fairy lord patrons in play.

    Like

Leave a comment